Our City


The warm welcome The City of Union extends to newcomers and visitors is more than Southern hospitality, it's our way of life!  You'll find an over abundance of friendliness in Union.  We welcome you because we've built a community that we're proud of, most of us wouldn't want to live anywhere else!  We've developed the perfect blend of traditional values and progressive attitudes.  

Over 28,000 residents live throughout the county and its five major communities - the City of Union and the towns of Lockhart, Jonesville, Buffalo and Carlisle.  Prominently located in the Piedmont Region of South Carolina, Union County is convenient to the major metropolitan areas of Greenville, Columbia and Charlotte. 

Our area has attracted national attention for its surge in economic growth, and its diverse, progressive business community that is a perfect blend of tradition and technology.  Our industrial parks have been developed through cooperation between the state, city and county governments.  Union County is a viable, vibrant place to do business.

It's rural and peaceful here, even so, Union County is moving ahead, but not at the expense of our small-town neighborly attitude. 

History, Tradition, and a Strong Sense of Community

Union County was named for the old Union Church, erected in 1765 near the present day town of Union.  The early settlers in the area were mainly Scotch-Irish from Virginia and Pennsylvania who began immigrating to the South Carolina upcountry in the 1750s.

Union County residents take great pride in pioneering roots that date back to the country's birth.  That underlying strength has endured providing the community with a strong sense of pride and cooperation...cooperation that helps its citizens work together to build a prosperous future.

A rich and fabled history provides the foundation for much of the county's allure.  Union County was the scene of several significant battles during the Revolutionary War, including the battles of Musgrove's Mill (August 18, 1780), and the Battle of Blackstock (November 20, 1780). 

There is much more to Union, our people exhibit a strong character and friendliness that is hard to find.  Civic clubs, and over 100 Churches are an integral part of life here, sponsoring programs that help the needy, provide support for senior citizens, and work with young people.

The City of Union is governed under the council form of government which provides that all executive and administrative duties lie with the City Council. The council is composed of six council members elected from six council districts and a mayor elected at-large to four-year, staggered terms of office.  City Council sets policies and provides the framework for the many City services through ordinances, resolutions and motions.  Regular Council meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm in the Municipal Complex at 101 Sharpe Avenue.  The City Administrator is responsible for recommending policy, carrying out the policies and enforcing the ordinances adopted by council.  

The offices of Mayor, Finance Director, City Administrator, Utilities Director, City ClerkHuman Resource Director, Taxes, Utility Customer Service, and Council Chambers are located on the first floor of the city municipal building (City Hall) at 101 Sharpe Avenue, while the Planning Department is located in the downstairs area of City Hall.  The Public Safety Department is located at 215 Thompson Boulevard.

~Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God. Matthew 5:9~